… Cameras and Graveyards

Day 6. I can’t believe this week is almost up. It’s sort of bittersweet. On the one hand, I believe now that I’ve created a proper tribute for my favorite teacher, but on the other hand, I don’t know that I’ll be as consistent with my blogging when I stop this project. Having a steady subject and a schedule has made me commit more to this blog than the one I had on facebook. But, in the immortal words of countless teenagers: whatever.

Today, I thought I’d talk about how Mrs. Sewell influenced me without even knowing it. During my stay at Berkeley Lake Elementary School, I learned for the first time how to operate video cameras and mixing boards. Now, since this was an elementary school, and it was back in the mid-90s, the technology was correspondingly poor. But still, I gained my first appreciation of these technological wonders. I became a part of the broadcast team (you KNOW it!) that aired once a week – I think on Fridays. We operated two cameras, put titles and credits on the screen, and wrote the scripts as a team under the tutelage of the Media teacher, whose name, unfortunately, I can’t remember. Mrs. Sewell encouraged me to join, I guess because she thought I would excel at and enjoy working on that sort of a team. She was absolutely right if that was her line on thought. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and in college, selected a major that allowed me to do exactly that. Interesting, isn’t it, how things work out?

Now, on Mrs. Sewell’s birthday (May 16, I’ve always been able to remember that because the class got her a cake that was in the shape of a gravestone… it was weird.), we went on a field trip to a graveyard. I thought this was an exceptionally cool way to learn about history. She convinced a man named Mr. Medlock (whose family owned a ferry in the early days of English civilization in our part of Georgia, and whose family the local ‘Medlock’ street names are named after) to come speak to us about the history of of our local area. Further (and here’s the tie in to the previous paragraph), Mrs. Sewell put Jessica Steiner and myself in charge of the video portion of our class presentation about the trip. So we traipsed around after Mr. Medlock and listened to his stories in the graveyard at Mt. Carmel Baptist Church. We learned that buried in this graveyard was the first boy born in Georgia and a good bit of his family, the Ivys. The road across the street was named for him, Lou Ivy Road. We etched epitaphs and read names. We found fallen soldiers and pioneers. It was actually a very cool field trip, and very unique.

So, teachers beware, what you encourage your students to do may have a profound impact on the kinds of life they choose to lead. You never know.

Until next time, friend,

-Cassie

Leave a Reply

